Your Norfolk

Your Norfolk Summer 2018

What's on near you

Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse
01362 869263

Sunday 8 July (10am to 5pm)
Story Festival: Journey to the Centre of the Earth
Stories, Art Attack! and performances by Strange Fascination Theatre Company.

Village at war

Sunday 26 and Monday 27 August (10am to 5pm)
Village at War
Step back to the 1940s with costumed characters, military vehicles and toe-tapping music.

Ancient House Museum
01842 752599

From Saturday 7 July
Duleep Singh Exhibition
Discover the museum’s connections with the last Maharajah of the Punjab.

Tuesday 28 August (10am to 1pm)
Discovery Tuesday: Toys and Games through the Ages £2/£1

Lynn Museum
01553 775001

From Saturday 30 June
Animal ABC Exhibition

Animal ABC

Thursday 2 August (10am to 1pm)
Discovery Thursday: Victorians
Meet Victorian characters and handle real objects from that time.

Strangers’ Hall
01603 667229

Sunday 29 July; 5, 12 and 19 August; 2 September (1 to 4.30pm)
Summer Sundays
Enjoy the delightful garden and play traditional games. Plus pop-up mini theatre in August.

Wednesday 8 to Friday 31 August (10.30am to 3.30pm)
Busy for Lizzy!
Craft activities and a new family trail to commemorate the Royal Progress of 1578, when Elizabeth I came to Norwich.

Strangers’ Hall and Museum of Norwich

Tuesday 24 July to Sunday 5 August
Free Days from the Freemen
Two weeks of FREE admission generously supported by the Freemen of Norwich.

Museum of Norwich 01603 629127

Tuesday 24 July to Saturday 1 September (10am to 4.30pm) 
Hare We Go!
Join our hare spotting trail and take part in craft activities.

Go go hares

Norwich Castle
01603 495897/493625

Wednesday 25 July to Wednesday 5 September (10.30am to 3.30pm; not Sundays)
Treasure!
A treasure trove of activities inspired by the Paston Treasure exhibition (see page 14). Includes art, crafts, stories, costumed characters and much more. Programme changes daily. Check website for details.

Paston events

Norfolk Record Office: The Archive Centre
01603 222599

Friday 27 July (2 to 4pm)
What is Norfolk?
Celebrate Norfolk Day with a look at historic documents and unusual maps. FREE but please book.

Wednesday 5 September (1 to 2pm)
Norwich Castle: The Past, Present and Future of a Treasured Landmark
A lunchtime talk by Paris Agar. FREE no need to book.

Time & Tide Museum
01493 743930

Wednesday 1 August (11am to 4pm)
Seaside Family Fun Day
Traditional Punch and Judy, face painting and a chance to make souvenirs.

Punch and Judy

Wednesday 8 August (11am to 4pm)
Draw(n) to the Coast
Become an artist for the day and discover ways of creating landscapes.

Elizabethan House
01493 855746

Monday 30 July (11am to 4pm)
The Mayor’s Magnificent Meal
Help the cook prepare a feast.

Monday 20 August (11am to 4pm)
An Audience with a Queen
Anne Boleyn’s in the house waiting to answer all your questions.

Tolhouse Gaol
01493 858900

Double Bumper History Days (11am to 4pm)
These joint events with the Elizabethan House include costumed characters and hands-on activities. Admission £3.50 for both sites.

Monday 6 August – Prisons and Parlours
Monday 27 August – Rags and Riches

Cromer Museum
01263 513543

Tuesdays 31 July and 28 August (10am to 12.30pm and
1 to 3.30pm)
A Very Victorian Day Out
Punch and Judy, Victorian crafts and costumed characters.

Stone Age

Tuesday 7 August (10am to 12.30pm and 1 to 3.30pm)
Roll into the Stone Age
Help make a Stone Age wall painting, handle prehistoric objects and bring in your own finds.

Museum events are drop in and free with admission unless otherwise stated. Please check museum website for opening hours.  www.museums.norfolk.gov.uk
www.archives.norfolk.gov.uk

Comments

Have your say...

Comments are closed for this article